Montreal: O.Noir – My Most Unforgettable Dinning Experience

Noir means black in French, if you would take a wild guess, and yes, you guessed it, it’s a dinning-in-the-dark kind of restaurant. When dinning in this restaurant, you can’t see anything, and more specially, all the waiters/waitresses are blind. I dare to say it was my best dinning experience during my short stay in Montreal.

When we first entered the restaurant, (the lobby was lighted, and the dinner place was behind a black curtain), the receptionist helped us with orders, and explained what to expect inside the dinning place.

IMG_4050

IMG_4049

Then our waiter David asked us to put our hands on the shoulders of the people in front, and follow him into the complete darkness. I found this dinning-in-the-dark rather an emotional journey. Darkness first made me felt really helpless, or desperate. But after settling down by our table with some pleasant chats with our waiter, I soon felt much better.

I went with the ‘surprise’ menu because I trust the restaurant 🙂 While devouring my exotic meal, I concluded some of the good things about eating in dark. First of all, complete darkness really boost people’s taste buds in some sense.  I felt that I paid more attention to what I was eating although I had no idea what was my food. Later our David explained that it was Croquette, which according to Wikipedia, is:

a small breadcrumbed fried food roll containing, usually as main ingredients, mashed potatoes and/or ground meat(veal, beef, chicken, or turkey), shellfish, fish, cheese, vegetables and mixed with béchamel or brown sauce, and soaked white bread, egg, onion, spices and herbs, wine, milk, beer or any of the combination thereof, sometimes with a filling, e.g. sauteed onions or mushrooms, boiled eggs (Scotch eggs).

When David asked me what else I think I was eating, I was able to name some of the vegetables on the plate! Turns out my palate was not as bad as I expected 🙂

Second, since no one can see anything, you are free to eat with your hands and suck the goodies at the tips of your fingers as much as you want. It sounds gross, but believe it or not, it feels really good!

Address:

1631 Ste-Catherine West, Montreal

To get there: reach Guy-Concordia Metro Station on the green line

Visit the website of the restaurant to get transportation, reservation and menu information!

Leave a Reply

