Montreal: Rememberance Day in 2012

Being in a commonwealth country for the first time, the whole Rememberance Day concept and the idea of wearing poppy flowers was quite new to me. I felt very fortunately that not only my study-abroad period coincide with this public holiday in Canada, but also McGill university got to hold this ceremony on its lower campus.

Wikipedia introduces Rememberance Day as

Remembrance Day (also known as Poppy Day or Armistice Day) is a memorial day observed in Commonwealthcountries since the end of World War I to remember the members of their armed forces who have died in the line of duty. This day, or alternative dates, are also recognised as special days for war remembrances in many non-Commonwealth countries. Remembrance Day is observed on 11 November to recall the end of hostilities of World War I on that date in 1918.

While TimeandDate explains the meaning of wearing red/white poppies

Many people wear artificial poppies on their clothes in the weeks before Remembrance Day. Red poppies symbolize the memory of those who died and white poppies campaigns for non-military interventions in conflict situations.

On the morning of Nov 11, I begun my day my randomly bumped into this parade troops when I was strolling along Du Parc. The parade ends up in the lower campus of McGill where thousands of Montrealers gathered, paying tribute to Canadian’s war veterans.

P1070496

IMG_8677

My high school buddy Lei Xin happened to visit me from Ohio.

IMG_8685

IMG_8688

P1070480

Cannons were laid out in front of McGill’s Arts building.

IMG_8696

IMG_8727

Spotted a guy played with his vintage/fancy camera.

IMG_8730

Leave a Reply

