Quiet Shamian Island

I’ve been hearing about this island for a while, either from TV or from my friends, saying it’s a cool place with all the European style building. But living far from the island, I’ve kept putting off the visit. On Jan 9th (Sunday), I finally made up my mind to discover this island by myself, with my camera.

Wikipedia has a brief introduction on the island:

Shamian Island (Samin Island), formerly known as Shameen Island, is a sandbank island in the Liwan District of Guangzhou city, GuangdongprovinceChina. The island’s name literally means “sandy surface” in Chinese.

The territory was divided into two concessions given to France and the United Kingdom by the Qing Dynastygovernment in the 19th century. The island is a gazetted historical area that serves as a tranquil reminder of the colonial European period, with quiet pedestrian avenues flanked by trees and lined by historical buildings in various states of upkeep. The island is the location of several hotels, a youth hostel, restaurants and tourist shops selling curios and souvenirs.

My friends are right, it’s a great place to chill, (for kids and adults)

to date,

and, to take wedding dress picture.

On the island, there’s another tourist attraction – the 28-story luxury White Swam Hotel, one of the first 5-star hotels in China. Take a look at the design in the grand lobby.

Too bad I’ve never spent a night here. But I will, one day.

After walking around the island, I went to the Huang  Sha seafood market. It’s way bigger than I thought it would be. My friend Alice Huang’s been to one of the restaurants named Jin Sha Gang here, and said it’s really good. I guess I’ll wait until next time when I gather a big group to order a lot of seafood here.

Leave a Reply

