Hong Kong: Sunset Peak Night-Hike

On Saturday night, I went for the hiking event organized by Yo-hoo Society of HKUST. One word to summarize the whole trip – amazing.

We assembled at Tung Chung MTR station at 10pm and started our hiking at the beginning of Lantau Trail at 12:00.

Before departure from HKUST, I wasn’t planned to bring a torch, since I don’t have one. But I borrowed one from Carson, which really saved my ass. Without a torch, it would be completely dark.

Hiking at night was my first time, and I would say, it’s absolutely a unique experience, different the day-time hiking. It was so much quieter, and thanks for the good weather, we can easily spot the stars and constellation in the sky – Orion, Sirius. I realized that PHYS002-Introduction to Astronomy, that I took last semester, would have been much better if the prof. hold this kind of event, which can get us access to the real constellations instead of the fake ones in the lecture notes.

At around 2am we reached the Sunset Peak. The low temperature (10 degree Celsius, as reported) combined with the cold wind, give me the pre-experience of coldest days in HK. I was wearing two T-shirts and two hoodies, and I felt that my ass is frozen.

I hung out with my friends for a while, and decided that I should really get some sleep because there would be another hiking going on in the afternoon the second day. So I took a nap in a ridiculously uncomfortable  gesture and you can’t imagine. 20 people in a room of the area less than 50 sq meters.

At 5:30 am I was woke up by friends to see the sun rise. It’s even colder in the morning, but the excitement of my first sun-rise viewing in HK was definitely a good chill-repeller.

Nothing better than some amazing pictures can better demonstrate the amazing sun-rise. Have a look:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Afterwards we had some rich breakfast, and departed and headed to the other end of the trail. The descending of the mountain took us another 2.5 hours, and it’s not that hard. (One of the organizer said, during their pre-trip, they tried another trail that leads them down to the foot of the mountain. That trail is shorter, but it’s freaking hard, since each step is like half the height of a girl of average height, say 5’5. Can’t imagine what would happen if we took that trail, I would literally die after that. )

The hiking is absolutely worthwhile and great. If you are not convinced, have a look at some of the pictures.

Hiking Details:

Get off the train at Tung Chung MTR station, take bus 3M to the starting point of Lantau Trail, Pok Kung Au (伯工坳), hiking to the Sunset peak(大东山) (2 hours), take the trail to cross the Nan Sham Section (南山), and reach the ending point of the trail. Take another bus back to Tung Chung MTR station.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Actually when someone doesn’t know afterward its up to other users that they will assist, so here it takes place.

Leave a Reply

